12 Players Who Will Be Removed From Hall Of Fame Ballot

Players can remain on the Hall of Fame ballot after their first year as long as they receive votes from 5 percent or more of the voters in the previous year’s voting.

This year, four players were elected, 18 players fell short but exceeded 5 percent, and 12 players fell short of the 5 percent threshold – which means they will not be on the next ballot.

Here are the 12 players: Carlos DelgadoTroy PercivalAaron BooneTom GordonDarin ErstadRich AuriliaTony ClarkJermaine DyeCliff FloydBrian GilesEddie Guardado and Jason SchmidtNomar Garciaparra narrowly missed being booted at 5.5 percent.

Here are their vote totals, via the Baseball Writers’ Association of America:

Name Votes (Pct.) Yrs on ballot
Carlos Delgado 21 (3.8) 1
Troy Percival 4 (0.7) 1
Aaron Boone 2 (0.4) 1
Tom Gordon 2 (0.4) 1
Darin Erstad 1 (0.2) 1
Rich Aurilia 0 (0) 1
Tony Clark 0 (0) 1
Jermaine Dye 0 (0) 1
Cliff Floyd 0 (0) 1
Brian Giles 0 (0) 1
Eddie Guardado 0 (0) 1
Jason Schmidt 0 (0) 1

You have to wonder who voted for Erstad.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s